Get to Know an Agent in Attendance: Olga Filina of The Rights Factory

Screen Shot 2018-11-28 at 6.07.35 PMOlga Filina is a literary agent with The Rights Factory.

She is seeking: For fiction, she seeks commercial, contemporary, historical, crime, middle grade, young adult, romance, mystery, and thriller. For nonfiction, she seeks business, lifestyle, and memoir.

After more than a decade as a sales manager and book buyer for both national and independent book store chains, Olga graduated Humber’s Creative Book Publishing Program and spent two years as a literary assistant at The Cooke Agency, until she found her perfect home (and family!) at TRF.

While Olga will read anything that may set her book clubs on fire, she gravitates towards commercial and historical fiction, great genre fiction in the area of romance and mystery, non fiction in the fields of business, wellness, lifestyle and memoir and young adult and middle grade novels with memorable characters.

In her spare time, Olga sits on library boards, organizes literary festivals and runs more book clubs than she can count.

 

Advertisements

Get to Know an Agent in Attendance: Cecilia Lyra of The Rights Factory

Screen Shot 2019-02-08 at 3.39.20 PM.pngCecilia Lyra is a literary agent with The Rights Factory.

She holds a Master’s Degree in Banking and Financial Law from Boston University and is completing a graduate certificate in publishing. In 2016, she bid adieu to her life as lawyer and professor of law to become a writer and literary agent. She blames this heretical career move on her nine-year-old-self, who was bitten by the reading bug and began to dream of the day when she would work with books.

Cecilia is actively seeking literary and commercial adult Book Club fiction that feature diverse, layered characters and unexpected plot twists. She adores writers such as Curtis Sittenfeld, Liane Moriarty and Elin Hilderbrand. As a feminist, Cecilia loathes the term women’s fiction—it’s just fiction—but, for the purposes of clarity, that is her favorite genre. Cecilia is also looking for unique and compelling narrative nonfiction and memoirs such as the works of Esther Perel, Roxane Gay and Tara Westover. She is particularly passionate about representing under- or misrepresented voices and stories that contribute to a larger cultural conversation.

When she isn’t devouring novels—or dessert—Cecilia can be found drinking wine, writing her own novels, and snuggling with Babaganoush, her adorable English bulldog. Do not send her a manuscript where the dog dies—Cecilia can’t handle it. Cecilia does not accept submissions for children’s books, middle-grade, YA, or fantasy.

Get to Know an Agent in Attendance: Erica Bauman of Aevitas Creative Managament

Screen Shot 2019-03-30 at 3.10.25 PM.pngErica Bauman is a literary agent with Aevitas Creative Management.

Erica represents a wide variety of authors for both children and adults, including acclaimed YA author Andrew Auseon and Broadway performer Tiffany Haas.

Erica is a graduate of Johns Hopkins University and has worked in the publishing industry for the last seven years. Before coming to Aevitas she worked at Spectrum Literary Agency.

Based in New York, Erica is currently focused on representing a wide range of authors across middle grade, young adult, and adult fiction, as well as some select narrative nonfiction projects. She is most interested in novels that straddle the line between literary and commercial, imaginative tales with a speculative twist, fearless storytellers that tackle big ideas and contemporary issues, and working with and supporting marginalized authors and stories that represent the wide range of humanity.

Get to Know an Agent Assistant in Attendance: Victoria Loder of The Rights Factory

Screen Shot 2018-12-10 at 2.45.45 PM.pngVictoria Loder is an agent assistant and rights assistant at The Rights Factory.

Victoria is a freelance writer, editor, and publishing professional based just outside of Toronto. She holds an Honours B.A. in English and History from U of T and graduated from the Centennial College publishing program in 2017. Her writing, both fiction and academic, has won her awards from the University of Toronto, where she also served as Editor-in-Chief of Scarborough Fair magazine. She can often be found at her local Starbucks drinking a grande peppermint mocha (even in summer) and reading—historical fiction and mystery/thrillers are her favourites, but she also loves a good ghost story, or non-fiction in the vein of Fat Girl Walking or Shrewed.

She is seeking:

  • adult fiction including thriller/suspense, crime fiction in the vein of Lesley Thompson’s The Detective’s Daughter
  • adult fantasy and science fiction, especially when the two are combined
  • adult historical fiction, especially European and anything with female pirates
  • adult nonfiction in the vein of Fat Girl Walking by Brittany Gibbons and Shrewed by Elizabeth Renzetti

 

 

Get to Know an Agent in Attendance: Weronika Janczuk of D4E0 Literary

Screen Shot 2018-12-03 at 1.57.06 PM 1.pngWeronika Janczuk is a literary agent with D4E0 Literary.

(Unlike other agents at the event who do not want materials passed to them during a pitch, Weronika asks that all pitching her bring their first 1-3 pages when meeting her. Again, note this is only for Weronika, not other attending agents.)

Weronika (pronounced like Veronica) broke into publishing in 2009, through a high school workshop that placed me with former young adult editor Brian Farrey at Flux (now North Star), a small imprint in Minnesota, where she pulled, from the slush pile, the lovely Out of the Blue by Holly Schindler, which received a starred review in Booklist. She then moved on to intern with Kathleen Anderson at Anderson Literary Management, Jenny Bent at The Bent Agency, and Mary Kole, formerly with the Andrea Brown Literary Agency. From 2010-2011, as an undergraduate at NYU, she worked with Bob Diforio and sold an array of projects. Weronika’s parents immigrated from Poland to Canada, where she was born. “I grew up in the Twin Cities of Minnesota; and now I reside in New York City, NY. I studied at New York University’s Gallatin School, where I finished a self-designed degree in the philosophy of the human person. I love Earl Grey tea and lattes, Sudoku, rivers, and pierogi with blueberries. I am also a writer, as are many other agents and editors. I queried my first project when I was 13, and have never queried again, tinkering in silence, perfecting craft, with my current project a science fantasy.

She is seeking:

“I am not, and have never been, a single-genre reader. I am eager only for the best-told stories, building out a list of talented novelists and writers in these genres:”

  • young adult
  • fantasy & sci-fi
  • literary fiction
  • commercial fiction
  • women’s fiction
  • romance
  • crime, mystery & thrillers
  • memoir
  • nonfiction (innovative ideas & research; projects with a potential for social & cultural impact, etc.)

“Human nature fascinates me, and I am drawn to stories that share the rawness and truth of what is and what is possible. I love beautiful writers, worlds, characters; smart, quirky and genre-bending stories. I love underdogs, and stories about characters that rise above limitations. I love romance, whether genre- or element-wise, that is visceral in its rawness. I love dark contours, intense in their immediacy, and world-building that catches your breath with its precision and distinctness.

“I am very much a reader that likes to be challenged, and expanded; very carefully constructed projects, which reveal a writer’s capacities, are most often those that awaken my heart and mind. I would prefer to work with writers eager to grow in their skill as novelists and build long-term, sustainable careers.

“I will not consider middle grade, children’s, or picture books, nor am I the right agent for illustrators or graphic novels.”

Get to Know an Editor in Attendance: Kirsten Marion of Common Deer Press

Screen Shot 2019-03-13 at 11.47.57 AMKirsten Marion is the publisher and acquiring editor at Common Deer Press. She is a CPA with over 25 years in senior management positions. She brings with her expertise in strategic planning and implementation; organizational development; corporate governance; finance; business operations and development; and marketing in both the public and private sectors.

She is a member of the Chartered Professional Accountants of Ontario and has a B.A (English Lit.) and an M.Sc. in Organizational Psychology

Genres/categories she is seeking:

1. Picture book fiction and nonfiction

2. Middle grade fiction and nonfiction

For more information about what excites her in a submission, click here.

Get to Know an Agent in Attendance: Stephanie Winter of P.S. Literary

Screen Shot 2019-06-14 at 10.54.27 AM.pngStephanie Winter is an associate agent at P.S. Literary.

She first joined the agency as an intern before becoming the agency’s relations assistant. Stephanie is a dedicated bookseller who holds a B.A. from the University of Toronto in English Literature and a M.A. in English: Issues in Modern Culture from University College London.

Her experiences of living and traveling in and around Europe have left her eagerly devouring upmarket, fantasy, and nonfiction genres that make new worlds and perspectives come alive. Stephanie particularly appreciates strong characters who bend stereotypes, genders, and more.

Stephanie is acquiring both fiction and nonfiction. Within fiction, she’s actively seeking diverse and inclusive representation in Upmarket, Commercial, Historical, and Women’s Fiction, in addition to urban and magical fantasies, cozy mysteries, dramatic comedies, light romances, and genre-bending narratives. Within non-fiction, she’s interested in Humor, Pop Culture, Pop Psychology, Memoir, cultural or event-based History, select Dessert Cookbooks, LGBTQ+ narratives, and essay collections.